top of page

General Committee – Wednesday, November 23, 2022, 7pm

Updated: Jan 5

The new Council's first General Committee meeting. Featuring a presentation on the Stormwater Climate Action Fund, appointing the Deputy Mayor, and interim Councillor appointments to selected Committees and Boards.


⛈💰 Stormwater Climate Action Fund

📑🗂 Staff Reports

🏘🪧 Municipal Street Naming – Mattamy Homes (McKay) Subdivision (Ward 7)

🏘🪧 Municipal Street Naming – Mattamy Homes (Lockhart) Subdivision (Ward 9)

  • HELD by Morales

  • Staff Report:

  • Recommending to approve the street names already included on the Municipal Naming Registry

    • Ridgehill Drive

    • Belgrave Trail

    • Rosette Street

    • Garnet Avenue

    • Fleetwood Street

    • Vinewood Crescent

    • Ivory Road

    • Ravenview Crescent

  • Recommending to confirm the names already added to the Municipal Naming Registry

    • Greer Street

    • Fenchurch Manor

    • Lower Street

  • MOVED as written by Morales, but requesting a separate report (may have some changes before City Council next week)

  • CARRIED unanimously

💥👷 Request for Temporary Noise Exemption, 37 Johnson St. (Ward 1)

🎯🔫 Exemption Request to Permit an Indoor Gun Range (Ward 8)

🧑‍⚖️📛 Deputy Mayor Position

👥👥 Council Interim Appointments to Committees and Boards

  • HELD by Thomson

  • Staff Report:

  • Recommending passing a bylaw to confirm interim appointments of members of Council to the selected committees and boards as per Mayor Nuttall's recommendations:

    • Barrie Hydro Holdings – all members of Council

    • Barrie Police Services Board – Nuttall, Thomson

    • Barrie Public Library Board – Courser, Morales

    • County of Simcoe, Affordable Housing Advisory Committee – Kungl

    • County of Simcoe, Performance Management Committee (Archives and Museums) – Nuttall

    • County of Simcoe, Simcoe County Housing Corporation Board of Directors – Nuttall, Thomson

    • County of Simcoe, Human Services Committee – Nuttall, Riepma, Kungl, Nigussie

    • Downtown Business Association (BIA) Board – Nixon

    • Greater Barrie Chamber of Commerce – Thomson, Nuttall (ex-officio)

    • Lake Simcoe Regional Airport Corporation Board – Morales

    • Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority – Riepma, Hamilton

    • MacLaren Art Centre – Harris, Nixon

    • Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority – Harvey

    • Physician Recruitment Task Force – Harvey

    • Public Art Committee – Courser, Thomson

    • Royal Victoria Regional Health Care Foundation – Nuttall

    • Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit – Kungl, Nuttall

    • Sandbox – Morales

    • Tourism Barrie – Harvey

  • A more comprehensive report on Committees will be presented after the Council Strategic Planning Session scheduled for December 3

  • AMENDMENT by Thomson, to replace Kungl with Hamilton on the County's Human Services Committee, and with Nuttall on the Affordable Housing Committee

    • Amendment CARRIED, unanimously

  • MOTION, as amended, CARRIED unanimously

Staff Memo re: Bill 23 (from Circulation List)

  • MEMO: Bill 23 Policy and Legislative Changes

  • MOVED by Riepma that the memo be referred back to staff for further information concerning the impacts on the tax base and the changes due to the Conservation Authority Act and the Heritage Act

  • APPROVED, unanimously


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page